top of page

Books + Reviews BLOG


Hello readers. I haven’t done a book reviews blog in a while. I figured I'd do it again. I enjoyed sharing my thoughts on books the last time I did it. Now, some of these books have already been out for some time. These are books I read so far in 2023. I’ll share the things I really like and enjoy. and what I don’t like. If you have read any of these books and like (or don’t like) them that is okay. I'm not here to argue or disgrace any author’s works. I wanted to share my honest thoughts and support authors.

A cat walk by the water and ballerina reflection

Early this year I read Wednesday’s Book. A book I won from a giveaway. I started reading it and couldn’t put it down. I love the cover and it has the classical The Swan Lake vibe and whimsical vibe.

Book Review: I rarely read a lot of mystery books. The story is a retelling of Swan Lake (a ballet classic) and incorporates elves and magic. I like the relationship between Trillian and Wednesday the cat (she is human. I won’t say who it is or why she is a cat). It is cute, sweet, and incredibly funny. I really enjoy the mystery and the vibe. The author did a great job!

Star Rates: 5.5.

Language: Fairly clean. I don’t remember seeing anything that stood out to me.

Trigger Warnings: Cat cuteness. Also, there is a lot of funny banter between the main character and the cat.

Plot: I think it was well written. I was too eager to find out what or why the girl turned into a cat. It was worth it.

Blurb: Trillion Orris is no stranger to trouble-or magic. Owner and lead detective for Orris Investigations, he has had more than one odd case stumble across his threshold. When Mrs. Richardson begs him to find her missing daughter-ballet dancer Odell-he quickly accepts the case. But nothing is as it seems; and the tangle of mystery and magic only seems to grow tighter the deeper he gets involved.

Trillion's personal life doesn't exactly offer respite either, and when the cat he's rescued begins to speak, Trillion has to wonder-is he going insane? Is the cat really a cat?

In this magical retelling of Swan Lake, who is who? And who... isn't?

Where to buy the copy: Amazon and Kindle.

Volk-wagon on road

I rarely read rom com books, but I read I Know the Plans: Port St. Annabelle Series and oh boy it is really good and funny too. This is the first book in the series, and I haven’t read the others.

Book Review: You need to read the story. It is so good and funny. But I also love how the author intertwined faith and shared the love of Christ. And He is not giving up on you yet. I really But I devoured the story. It was too good. There were scenes that cracked me up. I couldn’t help it but laugh. God knows what is best for us even when life doesn’t make sense. It has a heartwarming, funny, and happy ending.

Star Rates: 5.5.

Language: Clean.

Trigger Warnings: It is fairly decent. I didn't see anything triggering.

Plot: It was decent pacing. I really enjoy it.

Blurb: Getting fired is difficult enough, but getting fired over something that wasn't your fault is infuriating. Job hunting is discouraging enough, but job hunting when you can't get hired because of the way you were fired (which really wasn't your fault) is just soul-crushing.

These are eternal truths that Annika Jones learns the hard way.

So, what's a broke, evicted and unemployed woman to do? Well, if you're Annika, you'll let your impulsive and erratic sister drag you across the country and into the middle of the woods on one of her harebrained money-making schemes.

What could possibly go wrong?

Where to buy the copy: Amazon and Kindle.

Girl on cover looking down and planes flying in the sky

Do you like classic retellings like The Secret Garden? Well, I happened to read a book about those beloved characters. Instead, seeing them as kids like in the original story, they are grown and have their own journeys. It was really cool to see something like that being told in a new, fresh way.

Book Review: This story is heartwarming but also makes you anxious. In a good way. The characters are likable and like how the author gave them more depth and their journey through the terrible four years during the first world war one. I really enjoyed it. It makes you want to go back every time and visit them. I'm so glad they got their happy endings.

Star Rates: 5.5

Language: Clean.

Trigger Warnings: Sickness, war, trauma, and deaths of loved ones.

Plot: The writing is slow and took a few days for me to get through. But it was good regardless.

Blurb: Yorkshire, 1914. Mary Lennox thought her world didn’t need to extend past her aunt’s secret garden after finally finding a home with her cousin, Colin, and her uncle at Misselthwaite nearly six years ago. But when war breaks out in Europe, Mary realizes that she can’t control anything outside the garden walls when her childhood best friend, Dickon Sowerby, announces he’s leaving to fight, taking away both his steady companionship and Mary’s dream of something more. Things only spiral further with Colin’s sudden departure, and Mary is left to run an estate she never planned to manage.

As the Great War spreads—bringing wounded soldiers, news of death, and increasing uncertainty to Yorkshire—Mary is forced to reckon with decisions she isn’t ready to make. And she can only hope that the mysterious magic of the garden that brought them all together once before reaches far enough to preserve the home and family that she waited so long to find.

In this stunning continuation of The Secret Garden, author Krystal Bailey brings readers back to the garden gate and beyond with a story full of heart, familiar faces, and new beginnings.

Where to buy a copy: Amazon and Kindle.

Sunset and woman on cover

Not too long ago I started reading a book called "With Every Memory. I requested a copy because the blurb caught my interest, and the cover looks interesting. After 64% into the book, I ended up DNFing it. Regardless, I thank Revell for the advance copy in exchange for an honest review.

Book Review: When I saw this and read the blurb, I wanted to read it. I went ahead and read the story. Though they mentioned trigger warnings, which I appreciate. I have read books with heavy themes. I understand losing a loved one is hard and trying to move on. I do like to read women's fiction. I gave 3 stars because there are things I didn't like, and there isn't much faith content in this. Some things were unrealistic in some aspects, and I didn't feel this book was for me.

Star Rates: 3.0.

Language: I don’t remember there is any cussing.

Trigger Warnings: Death loss, trauma, family relationships.

Plot: The writing is okay. But I feel it was a bit of dread.

Blurb: After a tragic accident robs her of the last nine years of memories, Lori Mendenhall comes home to a family completely different than she remembers. As her memory returns and past secrets resurface, it will take all of them to repair what's been broken and find a new future together.

Where to buy a copy: Amazon and Kindle. Available on other retailers

Three kids heading to the waterfall

The last book I recently read was ARC copy Chronicles of the Hidden Realms: Return of the Light. It is a middle grade fantasy story. I am impressed how the author created a whimsical and adventurous tale about two siblings and their quest returning to their homeland and breaking the dark force and bringing the light back to their kingdom.

Book Review: I like reading fantasy adventure stories and this one is worth it. Leah did a beautiful job weaving faith and the importance of sharing God’s light into the dark world. And these characters are fighting for what they believe and know darkness can’t win forever. I love the importance of friendships, family, and working together as a team.

Star Rates: 5.5.

Language: Clean.

Trigger Warnings: hmm the book is fairly clean, but it does tackle some tough challenges to overcome the doubts and lies and tempter.

Plot: The story is quick and enjoyable. I can’t wait to read the sequel.

Blurb: An unknown past reveals a destiny long foretold.

Peter and Isabella Toth thought they were like any ordinary fourteen or twelve-year-old living in Garavelle, until they encounter Light Snatchers in the woods, and their world is flipped upside down. Imagine their surprise learning they are from another realm, the Land of Light, and are being hunted by the Dark Lord Gog who cursed their homeland long ago.

Together, this brother and sister, along with their friend Sarah, are forced into a perilous journey where a destiny calls them to return the light back to their kingdom. They must discover courage as they venture through a magical realm to find the Light Spark and break the evil curse plaguing the Land of Light. But unforeseen obstacles arise as Lord Gog sends dragons, wolves, Nicromines, and Light Snatchers to hunt them down.

The curse will spread if the magical creatures of the Land of Light do not rise up to fight alongside Peter and Isabella. Will the Light Spark be found in time? Will Peter and Isabella face their fears and step into their destiny before darkness consumes the realm? They will need more than courage to face the ultimate battle of their lives in Leah Ann Brown’s debut novel, Chronicles of the Hidden Return of the Light.

Where to buy a copy: Amazon and Kindle. Available on other retailers.








25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page