top of page

Return to NaNoWriMo


Hey, welcome back.

October is soon to be over, and November is upon us. It has been a little while since I shared my writing projects.

Since November is a writing month, I thought it would be a fun topic to talk about. The Nanowrimo 2020 is here. Before I begin, I want to tell you about Nanowrimo.

If you don’t know what NaNoWriMo is (National November Writing Month) It is a program that happens once a year and writers from around the world join the challenge and take part to write 50k words in a month. It is a lot to write in thirty days, but if you prep your project ahead of time, it will be less difficult and less worry.

My first one doing this was years ago. I heard about this program through a friend. I was new at writing. I didn’t join after I learned what it was. However, in 2015, I joined and wrote a novel. (I didn’t reach 50k but close to 45k words) It was a lot to write, but I had fun.

Why did I wait five years to do it again? For a couple of reasons. When I did the first Nanowrimo I jumped into the editing process. I rushed too fast and tried to get my novel polish without giving it time to rest. And I accidentally deleted the manuscript. Ah, it was awful. I cried and tried it again, but it wasn’t the same. I gave up. And other than that, I know I could do Nanowrimo but felt I needed more time to work on something else that isn’t a 50k novel.

Five years later, I joined the challenge for the second time. This time I feel confident and know I can do it again. Plus, I am more prepared to take this one step at a time and try not to rush things afterward. For the Nanowrimo project, I’m going to write YA (young adult) crossworld fantasy! I set the story in a medieval period with a bit of technology and the earth. The idea started two-three years ago.

I was surfing through Pinterest looking for inspiration. I saw some pictures like an elegant pocket watch, a castle and an actress. Looking at them, the story popped into my mind.

A fantasy world set in a medieval period with a bit of technology. And our world. A main female character named Arryn risking her life to stop bad characters and save her kingdom. If you are wondering why I’m writing it now and not then, I will tell you.

At the time I have been writing like crazy over the past five months creating short stories and felt burned out. I just didn’t feel like writing it. I need time to rest and refuel my creativity tank.

Last summer I went back to that story idea and worked on it. After I wrote (then it was a short story) and shared it with a few close friends. Some said it was good, but there were a couple of things they suggested I should do. To be honest, I didn’t want to change the story. I thought it was good enough to be a short story. I want to publish it, but then I put it aside for now.

And a year later, I opened the manuscript and read it again. I saw a lot of plot holes. I came to realize the beta readers were right. It needed more content about the history of certain characters and the special object. With Nanowrimo coming up, I thought it would be a perfect project.

I thought it would be fine to share with you the brief content is about the novel.

The photo is copyrighted elsewhere.

Here is my mock-up cover for Nanowrimo. Now the short blurb.


"One day, Arryn, a young woman who is soon to be the leader of Tribrach, feeling distress of her parents' death was on her way to their graves and was attacked by a man who seeks to control her realm in order to get revenge for his grandfather's death. Things go from bad to worse when Arryn is transported to modern-day Earth by the magical element of her world. Arryn must find her way back home in time to save Tribrach from its enemies."

I'm sure in the future, the story blurb will be different, but this is what is about for now.













49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page